Jane Roberts
38 North Ferry Road
PO Box 970
Shelter Island, NY 11964
Phone (631) 749-0758
jroberts@shelterislandtown.us


 

Home    Committees

Community Preservation Advisory board 

Board Members:

Gordon Gooding, Chairman (2-2-20)
ggooding@shelterislandtown.us

Michael Laspia, Vice Chairman (2-2-22)
mikelaspia@gmail.com

Charles Kraus, Member (2-2-22) 
ckraus@shelterislandtown.us

J. Edward Shillingburg, Member (2-2-22)
eshillingburg@shelterislandtown.us

Albert A. Brayson, Member (2-2-22)
abrayson@shelterislandtown.us

Kathleen Gerard, Member (2-2-21)
kgerard@shelterislandtown.us

Joseph Denny, Member (2-2-21)
jdenny@shelterislandtown.us 

Albert Dickson, Town Liaison
adickson@shelterislandtown.us

Jane Roberts, Clerk

2019 Calendar - CPFAB Meets on Monday at 8:30am.
January 7, 2019 *February 4, 2019 * March 11, 2019
April 8, 2019 * May 13, 2019 * June 10, 2019
July 8, 2019 * August 12, 2019* September 9, 2019
October 21, 2019 * November 18, 2019 * December 9, 2019
MARCH 11 MEETING HAS BEEN CANCELLED

Conservation Tools for PRESERVING OPEN SPACE    

2019 Minutes
January 17, 2019
February 4, 2019
April 8, 2019

2019 Agendas
AGENDA*January 7, 2019
AGENDA* February 4, 2019
AGENDA* April 8, 2019
AGENDA * May 13, 2019




2018 Agendas and Minutes

 2016-2017 Minutes



Peconic Bay Region Community Preservation Fund Advisory Opinions Bureau

The five East End Towns have been authorized by law to form an Advisory Opinions bureau to provide for effective and consistent administration of the Peconic Bay Community Preservation Fund (2% tax). The bureau has representatives from the towns, villages and public at large. The opinions rendered by the bureau are advisory, and adopted opinions are posted below as guidance for both public officials and members of the public on issues related to the proper uses of the Community Preservation Fund (CPF).

Opinion 2013-1
. Summary: CPF money can be used to buy a dog park if (1) the property was acquired for dog park purposes; (2) such use is compatible with the natural character of the land and (3) no CPF money is used to maintain the dog park.

Opinion 2013-2
. Summary: CPF money may not be used to fund four poster deer tick control programs.

Opinion 2013-3
. Summary: There are no limits to the frequency for which parcels may be considered for acquisition with CPF funds.

4. Final Beach Projects
. Summary: CPF money can be used for reestablishment or restoration of beaches, but only if the beaches have been purchased with CPF money.

5. Final Affordable Housing
. Summary: "Development rights in property acquired with CPF money can only be used for affordable housing under specific conditions"

6Final Liability Insurance
. Summary: "CPF money may not be used to buy liability insurance for CPF property"

The Bureau prepared CPF Stewardship guidelines and asked each town to adopt them. Below are the CPF Stewardship guidelines adopted by the Town of Shelter Island in 2011:

Rules and Regulations for CPF Acquisition and Stewardship

 7. Final AG Restrictions

8. Final Building Recreation

9. Final Historic Use